Strawberry Fields Cake

strawberry

What can a Beatles fan bake in spring in Ireland?! A “strawberry fields” cake! 

I won’t add a recipe because I made this a long time ago. I do remember that it was an experiment though. I used a normal sponge cake recipe to start with, then added to it tons of (washed) chopped fresh Irish strawberries ^_^ When it was out of the oven, I sprinkled some caster sugar on top and … I immediately had a slice!

Funnily enough, I didn’t discover this song while listening to a Beatles album. I first heard “Strawberry Fields Forever” sung by the handsome Jim Sturgess in the movie “Across the Universe” – an ode to Beatles, love and freedom (in my humble opinion, that is). For a more reliable description of the movie, you may take a look at the IMDB website: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1637656/

Enjoy a piece of it here, and if possible watch the full movie, it’s amazing!


2 thoughts on “Strawberry Fields Cake

Rispondi/Reply

